College, and what it really teaches

After completing my first semester of college, I’ve taken a step back and reflected on my experiences attending a University. My first thought is, of course, crap I’m already 1/8 done with college. At this rate, I feel like my 4 years will be over before I even have time to really nail down my cursive signature (which needs a lot of work). I’ve learned more in these past 16 weeks than I could have ever imagined, and I’ve also fought some losing battles.

I feel like I need to start off by saying that I don’t exactly have a typical college experience going for me so far. After 2 weeks of school, my roommate decided that she just wasn’t in the right place at the right time, so she packed up her side of the room and left to go back home and ever since then I’ve been living alone in my dorm room. While living alone does have its perks, like not worrying about waking someone up if I come back late or leave for class early (it was such a bad idea taking 8 am’s), I’ve missed out on the experience of having a freshman year roommate. When I was younger, I always had visions of my future roommate and I being best friends and getting along so well. Well, that didn’t happen. But that’s ok. And everyone always gets a little jealous when they hear I don’t have a roommate. Apparently it’s a hot commodity.

I also live really close to my school, like 20 minutes close. This makes it hard at times to really move on from my past life and start this new chapter. I so badly wanted to be able to spread my wings like the independent bird I always thought I could be, but things happened and it turned out to be more like a baby bird learning how to fly for the first time. I went home a lot for various reasons (getting sick in college is the absolute worst) so I’m grateful that my parents welcomed me back home for weeks at a time when I came down with a case of the flu then mono later on in the year. So while I would love to say that I became a super independent girl who could do everything on her own, that would be a huge lie. I needed help, sometimes a lot, and I turned to my parents for that help. And that’s ok.

This semester I realized that if you really put your mind to something, you can achieve it. All you have to do is work harder than you ever have before. I was able to do that with my classes, and let me tell you I surprised even myself. I did better this semester than I did all throughout high school, and I partly owe that to my high school education. Shoutout college preparatory schools, you da bomb. I also am studying something that I’m passionate about, something that I enjoy, something that I can see myself doing when I’m older and loving it. That’s the most important part, just loving what you’re studying. If you don’t love it, it’s not for you. So don’t be afraid to change your major. I already have. And that’s ok.

My first semester of college taught me a lot about school, life, and everything in between. I can’t wait for these next 7 semesters with the friends that I already know will be in my life forever. And I can’t wait for the many more memories to come with the school that I fell in love with.

Leave a Reply

