Why I won’t let the past define me

I’m just going to go out there and say it, but everyone has at least one enemy. You may not know it, but there’s probably someone who just doesn’t like you. End of story. No big deal. That person doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things, so you shouldn’t let one opinion weigh you down and define you.

I’ve been through it all with friends. I’ve lost friends who I thought were going to be in my life forever, and while it sucked at first, I got over it. I realized that if someone chooses to leave your life, they were no good for you in the first place. We need people who are going to stay with us and support us no matter what, so a fleeting friendship wasn’t worth your time anyways.

I’ve let ruined friendships dictate who I am. But not anymore. I used to base my plans on trying to win back friendships that were just toxic to me and everyone else around me, I just didn’t realize it at the time. People have a strange ability to control and manipulate your thoughts and feelings without you even realizing it. Toxic friends can make you feel bad for things even when you did nothing wrong. These are the friends who are simply not worth it. While it’s hard at first, you just have to look at the horizon and move on. It’ll be worth it in the end.

Friends come in and out of your life, that’s just a fact of life. Remember your best friend from elementary school? The one that you thought was going to be your best friend forever and be your maid of honor at your wedding? Maybe you follow each other on Instagram, but that’s the most contact you’ve had with her in years. And that’s okay.

Your past friendships are in the past for a reason. Let yourself learn from those childhood best friends or those ruined high school friendships over a boy. People come and go, but make sure you hold onto the lifelong friends.

Leave a Reply

