5 simple things to make you feel on top of the world

One thing that I would love to be is a minimalist. However, I know that I am far from being that. It’s so easy for me to get caught up in materialistic things and having the latest trend. I’m trying to change that, so I came up with a little list of things that I cherish that you can get without having to go to the mall or drive to the nearest shopping center.

1. A summer breeze – This one is pretty self-explanatory, all you really need is summer. If you live in a place that stays relatively cold all year long, then you are out of luck. (And how do you get your Vitamin D!?) There’s something so peaceful about basking in the summer sun and listening to the breeze ruffle the leaves all around you. Hearing it gives me a sense of serenity, and I feel so calm and collected after spending just 5 minutes outside.

2. A good laugh – There is nothing in the world that makes me happier than when I laugh so hard my cheeks hurt and my stomach becomes sore. In my experiences, the funniest moments happen when no one is expecting them. A Girl’s Night In turns into a night you’ll remember for the rest of your life. Cherish these moments and memories because they might be some of the best of your life.

3. Family – This one sounds so simple, yet it is often overlooked, at least on my part. Once I’m home for a couple days, I’m ready to leave again. My whole family being together is a rare occasion, so when we are all together, it’s nice for awhile. Then, one by one, we all become ready to flee the nest and become independent again. I think it’s the mix of dysfunction and lack of freedom that we feel, but the first few days are wonderful. I never take these days for granted, even though I may feel like exploding sometimes. I never know when the next time we’ll all be together will be, so I take each memory and cherish it.

4. Music – Music has a strange way of making something so small feel almost as big as the entire world. A certain song can transport you into a whole new world. My love for music has shaped my teenage years into, essentially, what I wanted them to be. I can hear a song and think about my spring break, maybe senior year of high school, maybe even freshman year of college. Music has the ability to alter your mood, so make sure you stick to up-beat tunes when you wanna feel good. I suggest Spotify’s top charts playlist. It gets you grooving, trust me.

5. Coffee – Call me basic, but coffee has turned into a staple for my daily life. That iced coffee with sugar-free vanilla creamer makes my mouth water just thinking about it. One sip and I’m a whole new person. The smile on my face just doesn’t turn into a frown! Not only does drinking coffee make me feel happy, but so does getting coffee. These are two very different things. My friend asks me, “Wanna go grab some coffee?” and I scream “YES!” Coffee dates have become almost a routine in my college life, but each date is different. It’s a way for friends to sit back, relax, and just talk about their days or how they’re feeling. Talk about a stress reliever. Especially during finals, but let’s be real. No one has time to even think about taking an hour break for a coffee date during finals. It’s the thought that counts, though!

6. Eno – Yes, I know I said there 5 things on this list. But I couldn’t resist adding this 6th one on here. An Eno hammock (see featured image) is one of my obsessions right now, and it makes me feel so connected to Mother Nature. It’s simple, convenient, easy to carry, and life changing. I have turned the word Eno into a verb, not even kidding. All you need is two trees and bam-serenity. Buy one now. Buy two, even. Stack ’em on top of each other and grab yo frands. You won’t be sorry. You can thank me later.

This list of 5 simple things has the power to make me feel like I’m on top of the world. With each one, you don’t need anything fancy to prove yourself. Except the coffee. I’ll need $3.22 to get my Venti Iced Caramel Coffee with half and half. Yikes. I think I already have an addiction.

Leave a Reply

