Do It If You’re Cool

“Do it if you’re cool!”

My roommates and I shout these words to each other whenever someone is debating on doing something, and then we always throw our heads back in laughter. This semester, I’m living with three of my best friends in my sorority house. When we were about two weeks into the school year, our quote board was already filled with sayings that have been repeated over and over because of how funny they are to us. The amount of inside jokes we have with each other is already astounding, and we’re only halfway through the semester at this point! There are been various times where we tell each other that living together has been the greatest thing to have happened to us. I can’t begin to explain how grateful I am for these girls in my life. Through our ups and downs, the ladies of B2 will always be there.

My freshman year of college was good, don’t get me wrong, but I had no idea how much better my sophomore year would be. Living in a sorority house is 100000x better than living in a dorm, in my opinion. We have 80 girls living under our roof, which sounds intense, but it is great in so many ways. There are so many possibilities that are waiting to happen, and I find myself becoming more and more independent.

I’m taking 18 credit hours this semester. All business classes. The majority of my quizzes and exams all fall on either the same day or the same week, so it is very stressful at times. I have a job driving kids to school in the mornings, so I need to make sure I wake up in time for that. I’m stressed, exhausted, drained, but happy. I feel like I’m constantly smiling because I think back to a great memory I have with my roommates. It’s hard and it’s a lot of work, but it is so worth it in the end.

I’ve always been super close with my mom, and last year I think I talked to her almost every single day. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with that. I just knew that I could become so much more independent, but I almost wasn’t allowing myself to. I think I wasn’t exactly happy with my dorm situation or the friends I had at that time. Now, everything is different, and even my mom has noticed. She told me she’s noticed we haven’t been talking that much, and she’s good about giving me my space. She knows I’m doing great things here at school, and she knows I’m genuinely happy and glad to be where I am. People aren’t lying when they say college is a great four years of your life.

Leave a Reply

